Link to home page  


Some of the jargon used by nursery staff
Construction play = any activity where children can build or construct a model e.g. lego, stickle bricks, wooden blocks, tubation.

Cognitive development = The ability to understand and extend thinking about experiences and information.

Early years Practitioner = nursery nurse, nursery manager or childcare worker who has practical experience of looking after children.

Early years Professional = someone who advices about childcare such as trainers, consultants, inspectors or people who contribute to national strategies.

Emotional development = able to recognise and express feelings, show empathy when others are upset or hurt.

Fine Motor/fine manipulative skills = Small intricate movements made primarily with the hands such as grasping and handling small objects. Hand & eye co-ordination required skills. A skill essential for pre-writing.

Gross Motor skills = large movements using major muscles of the whole body and both upper and lower limbs.

Malleable play = activities that allow children to mould and sculpture with a soft material such as play dough or plastercine.

Role Play = any activity that allows children to pretend play e.g. dressing up, shop, hair dresser, café, small play such as dolls house or garage.

Self Esteem = a feeling of self worth, confidence in their own ability, positive feelings will enhance emotional well-being.

Self Help Skills = this enhances a child’s personal independence such as dressing, eating, washing or brushing teeth.

Sensory skills = learning to use the five sensory skills touch, smell, hear, taste and see.
    Useful Contacts
TLLC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

OfSTED = Office for Standards of Education, the organisation that inspects nurseries to ensure they are meeting national standards for childcare settings. OfSTED also measures nurseries against their ability to provide suitable activities to cover the early learning goals.

Telephone: 0845 601 4771
    QCA = Qualifications and Curriculum Authority, the organisation that sets the criteria and guidance for the foundation stage of learning which is designed for children aged 3-5 years. This organisation also sets the criteria for all other stages of learning when your child moves up to school.
BSA = Basic Skills Agency is a charity that manages a range of projects that offer learning opportunities to adults who wish to improve their basic skills. They manage a number of courses that are designed to help parents of young children to understand how their children learn in an early years or primary school environment. These courses include Early Start,
DTC = Day Care Trust is the national childcare campaign. Promoting quality, affordable childcare for all. They advise parents, nurseries and other childcare providers, employers, trade unions and policy makers about a range of childcare issues.

Telephone: 020 7840 3350
DFES = Department for Education and Skills is the government strategy unit for education and skills in England. The unit that is specifically for childcare and families is called Sure Start and is responsible for a number of strategies such as creating more childcare places in disadvantaged and rural areas, quality assurance within nurseries and other childcare providers.

Telephone: 020 7276 1881
    BSA = Basic Skills Agency is running a number of family learning programmes that help parents to become more involved in their child’s education. They give an understanding of the changes that have occurred in teaching young children since attending school ourselves.

    CIS = Children’s Information Services are in every area of the country. Your local CIS will hold information about every childcare provider in your area and can give advice about a number of childcare issues that parents may have.

top of page